What Now?

Posted: May 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

I have to tell you, I’m at an impasse.  I really feel strongly that I cannot spend another year teaching where I am right now.  I also want to be in a position where I can have a greater impact.  Teaching only allows me to impact a few hundred people over several years.  I know it’s a lot to each one, in it’s way, starfish and all.  But it’s not enough.

When I was a little kid I used to imagine myself at the top of the world with a megaphone. And by that I mean on top, big, so everyone can hear me, not freezing and alone in the Arctic Ocean.

I can’t keep doing what I’m doing.  For one thing, I work in one of the largest districts in the country, and what we are doing to kids is a dismal abuse. Accountability measures have narrowed education for students from poverty to such a degree that they’re being further crippled for life by a ‘favor’ imposed on them by the state.  Kids who show up at school with a dearth of skills and a strong likelihood of negative outcomes get an education that is restricted to those benchmarks which are assessed by the accountability tool.   At my grade level, that means 84% of the curriculum takes a back seat to the 16% that’s tested.

For another, where I am is not in the best possible position to help the kids I love and the community I’m invested in.  I need a higher vantage point.  So back to school for me.

Comments
  1. momshieb says:

    While I am sorry that the classroom will be losing you, I applaude your desire to do what is right for kids and to reach a wider circle! I hope that you will get into a position where your logical approach to testing and teaching can help us all out here in the trenches. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

